teaatheabbey:

                    CHAPTER THREE OF SPARE BRIDES – CROSSED WIRES

“I do envy you sometimes,” Edith sighed as she looked around the small parlour of Sybil’s modest London flat having arrived to join she and Rose for tea. “All this freedom… though I do still wonder how on Earth you managed to convince Papa to let you do it.”

“I’m afraid Mama can take credit for that,” replied Sybil. “It didn’t make sense for my to stay in Grantham House all by myself and I feel as though I just would have been a burden on Aunt Rosamund. I’m surprised that you haven’t followed suit though… I thought your Mr Gregson had a place not far from here?”

“He did,” Edith sighed wistfully. “Though it had to be sold to cover the death duties.”

“Oh, I’m sorry… I didn’t think.”

“Don’t be,” replied Edith. “It isn’t your doing.”

“Does it not get lonely living all by yourself though?” asked Rose, changing the subject in an attempt to lighten the mood.

Sybil shook her head. “I don’t mind being on my own,” she replied. “In fact, I rather enjoy it. It wasn’t until I moved in here that I realised I hadn’t had a moment of true privacy in my whole life. I have many friends and acquaintances whom I can call on whenever I choose, Aunt Rosamund isn’t too far away, and now that you and Atticus are settled in London, I hope to see more of you too.”

“Not to mention the dozens of admirers practically throwing themselves at your feet,” Rose smirked from behind her teacup. “I still can’t understand why at least one one of them hasn’t caught your eye yet.”

Sybil laughed. “I’ve said it so many times before, but I have no intention of ever being married, and it would take someone rather special indeed to change my mind. Now, if I were in love, then that might be different, but I’ve never been in love nor is finding it for myself really my top priority at the moment… as for children, well, I have no doubt that Mary will go on to have a full brood and the beauty of that is that I can give them back at the end of the day.”

Leave a comment